air pollution simulation

Post here for very basic questions and request for help...
But: BEFORE you post, read the older posts if your question hasn't been answered before.
Please be specific. Q like "I don't understand ENVI-met" will most likely be ignored.
mchp316

air pollution simulation

Post by mchp316 »

Hi Tim,

I am a beginner. I am using ENVi-met for air pollution simulation. I watched all the videos and set up the simulation followed the videos. However, I cannot get any result of pollutions. I have a full version. The species I simulated were PM2.5, PM 10, NO, NO2, O3. I did not define a user-defined pollutant. Is it necessary to define them? But, I did not find where to define them in <sources>.

I am looking forward to hearing from you. Thanks very much.
Chunping

Tim

Re: air pollution simulation

Post by Tim »

Hi Chunping,

It you followed all necessary steps, it should work properly. Why did you not find the user-defined emission profile? You need to set the values in the DBManager, then digitize the new source in your model area and afterwards activate a simulation with MultiPollutants in the ENVIguide.

Best regards,
Tim

MariaH

Post by MariaH »

Hi Tim,
one more question concerning this topic. In the Envi-Guide (Intermediate mode) I can do the settings for the "pollutant dispersion" --> at the bottom "Chemical Species or type of pollutant" --> I chose "PM" and then there are additional settings for particles --> particle diameter and density (g/cm³). Does it mean the density especially of the pollution coming from the source or the general density of the pollution particles in the whole ambient air?

Thanks in advance!

Maria

Tim

Post by Tim »

Hi Maria,

The pollutant emission profile coming from the source can be edited in the DBManager. The particle density in the ENVIguide refers to the density of a single pollution particle.

Best regards,
Tim

MariaH

Post by MariaH »

okay, thanks! :)

mchp316

Post by mchp316 »

Hi Tim,