Material assignment in Monde VS. Spaces

ENVI-met Monde World Editor (BETA)
sara5759
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 2:01 am

Material assignment in Monde VS. Spaces

Postby sara5759 » Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:42 am

Dear ENVI-met team

I have some questions about building and surface materials in Monde.
1-Which one is better: assign materials to buildings in Monde or in Spaces? How about surfaces and roof?
2-What is the difference between in Monde and Spaces in terms of placing the trees in the model area in?

Regards
Sara

Tim
Posts: 1496
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: Material assignment in Monde VS. Spaces

Postby Tim » Tue Dec 10, 2019 10:10 am

Hi Sara,

1 Assigning materials to buildings is more or less the same effort for both programs. Since you are able to grid the Monde model into every desired resolution without the need of digitizing it again, I would recommend to do all the work in Monde (e.g. digitizing the surfaces as well).
2 There is no difference but the same argument as above. If you need to grid the same model area multiple times, you save time if you already included the trees in your Monde model.

Best regards,
Tim

sara5759
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 2:01 am

Re: Material assignment in Monde VS. Spaces

Postby sara5759 » Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:36 am

Dear Tim,

Following your suggestion to do all digitizing in Monde, I tried to digitized trees in Monde too. I have assigned 3d plant to all trees in my interested area. The area is 600x600 m2 with almost 2000 trees. I was trying a couple of time but each time the computer crashed. Does it mean it is impossible to digitize trees in Monde? And I need to digitize all trees one by one again in space?

Regards
Sara

Tim
Posts: 1496
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: Material assignment in Monde VS. Spaces

Postby Tim » Fri Jan 10, 2020 8:38 am

Hi Sara,

No that should work... we already exported model areas with more trees than that. Where does it crash? Did you try it at a more performant PC?
We often digitize the trees as shapefile in GIS in order to apply IDs via attribute table for several trees at one, where Monde needs the ID application for every new single tree. The shapefile is then imported to Monde.

Best regards,
Tim

sara5759
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 2:01 am

Re: Material assignment in Monde VS. Spaces

Postby sara5759 » Sat Jan 11, 2020 5:20 am

Hi Tim,

I do exactly the same. I digitized the trees in GIS, then imported them into Monde. As soon as I hit the export modeling button, the Monde closes.
The export dialog attached.

Regards
Sara
Attachments
11.export modeling.trees.jpg

Tim
Posts: 1496
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: Material assignment in Monde VS. Spaces

Postby Tim » Sat Jan 11, 2020 9:30 am

Hi Sara,

Yes, I could reproduce that. We will have a look at that issue.
What worked for me everytime, was the other option to "Assign values using attribute data". Add a column to the shapefile in GIS, where the ENVI-met ID is set for every tree. Choose that column in this dialog and click export.
Be sure that there is a tree with that ID. Try that by adding an empty tree Modelling Layer and digitize one tree with that ID before your start exporting.

Best regards,
Tim

claudiacp
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 2:08 pm

Re: Material assignment in Monde VS. Spaces

Postby claudiacp » Tue Jan 28, 2020 4:48 am

Dear Tim,
I am having the same problem when exporting the shapefile from 3Dplants to Modeling. I digitalized all the trees in GIS, created the ID attribute table, as you suggested, and imported it into MONDE. Every time I export the shape to Modeling, Mode closes automatically. Do you have another option for this problem?
Best regards,
Cláudia

Tim
Posts: 1496
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: Material assignment in Monde VS. Spaces

Postby Tim » Tue Jan 28, 2020 11:56 am

Hi Cláudia,

We found an issue with the plants there and fixed it but the new version is not yet online. However, the error does not happen if I use the option "Assign values using attribute data". Could you attach the shapefiles as zip?

Best regards,
Tim

claudiacp
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 2:08 pm

Re: Material assignment in Monde VS. Spaces

Postby claudiacp » Tue Jan 28, 2020 2:09 pm

Dear Tim,
I have already assigned the values using attribute data, to no avail. Attached is the file containing the information. I’m very grateful to you for helping me.
Best regards,
Cláudia
Attachments
MONDE_FORUM.rar
(7.48 KiB) Downloaded 4 times

Tim
Posts: 1496
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: Material assignment in Monde VS. Spaces

Postby Tim » Tue Jan 28, 2020 4:24 pm

Hi Cláudia,

It is a different problem here but it will still be solved with our bugfix. Until it will be released in a few weeks hopefully, you could use an older version of Monde (e.g. from ENVI-met 4.4.3), it works with that version.

Best regards,
Tim

claudiacp
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 2:08 pm

Re: Material assignment in Monde VS. Spaces

Postby claudiacp » Wed Jan 29, 2020 3:03 pm

Dear Tim
Thank you for your feedback. I did the test in version 4.4.3 and it worked. I take the opportunity to ask a question about the issue of trees. I was designing the trees and I noticed that the program accepts an overlap of trees with buildings. It looks like an error in the 3D view when accepting this overlay. What is the property that the simulator considers for calculation? Does the simulator consider the building as predominant? I've sent the file. Please find it attached.
Best regards,
Cláudia
Attachments
figure_tree.jpg

Tim
Posts: 1496
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: Material assignment in Monde VS. Spaces

Postby Tim » Wed Jan 29, 2020 3:18 pm

Hi Cláudia,

Great that it worked with the older version.
That is only a visual glitch in Spaces. In the simulation, buildings are dominant.

Best regards,
Tim

claudiacp
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 2:08 pm

Re: Material assignment in Monde VS. Spaces

Postby claudiacp » Wed Jan 29, 2020 3:46 pm

Dear Tim,
Thanks ever so much.
Best regards,
Cláudia

claudiacp
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 2:08 pm

Re: Material assignment in Monde VS. Spaces

Postby claudiacp » Wed Jan 29, 2020 8:23 pm

Dear Tim,
I continued doing the tree tests in Monde (version 4.4.3). I exported to Modeling, as you recommended, and then to ENVI-met Space. At ENVI-met Space the trees seem to be some kind of problem, because the geometry of the canopy in 3D was not respected, as the selected species. Also, I can not open the file in the Space version 4.4.4. I've sent the file. Thank you so much!
Best regards,
Cláudia
Attachments
Modellexport_tree.rar
(3.05 KiB) Downloaded 4 times

Tim
Posts: 1496
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: Material assignment in Monde VS. Spaces

Postby Tim » Thu Jan 30, 2020 8:35 am

Hi Cláudia,

Your model area is too low for your large trees. You need to increase the amount of Z cells. My test with 30 cells looked fine.

Best regards,
Tim


Return to “ENVI-met Monde”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests